Inspired by Yotam – Quinoa stuffed baby squid with tomato and okra!

IMG_3011-1.JPG

squid

I often get inspired by dishes I see on cooking shows. Last night I was watching Yotam Ottolenghi in Crete. He surely expresses all the core elements in local dishes in a fascinating revealing way. This dish grabbed all my senses through its simplicity and fresh produce. Also by the fact that I love squid and okra. His original recipe suggests Bulgar but instead I use Quinoa for its nuttiness, not really simply because I could not find bulgar but quinoa worked just fine. If I can’t make it to Crete I have just made it on a plate and I love it!

Recipe (serves 4): • 8 baby squids • 1 onion finely chopped • 300g of Okra • a pinch of cumin • a pinch of grounded coriander • a glass of white wine • 2 crushed cloves of garlic • 2 plum tomatoes diced into 1cm cubes • 100g of chopped parsley • 100g of chopped dill

Stuffing: • 1 cup of quinoa (cook before stuffing) • 1 spring onion finely chopped • a bunch of dill finely chopped • a bunch of parsley finely chopped • the juice of 1/2 a lemon • 1 large red chilli finely chopped • 2 tablespoons of olive oil • salt and pepper .

The squid must be sautéed first until lightly browned. This should not take more than 5 minutes. Pull the squid out of the pan and throw in the onions until golden brown. Deglaze the pan with the cup of wine then add the okra. Place the squid on top and place the chopped tomatoes on top. Add 1/4 cup of water, cover with a lid and cook over low heat for 1/2 hour. Try it, you will love this dish and thank Yotam for the inspiration!

