A humble artichoke brings back childhood memories !

Artichoke

This thorny leave edible flower is full of character and one of my favourite vegetables. Its origin is in the Mediterranean but still found its way to Chile where it’s highly consumed. I remember as a kid slowly dipping each leaf in a lemon vinaigrette, pulling them through my teeth and dragging the tip of the leaf where its
soft, nutty in the mouth. While devouring each petal I would always anticipate reaching the heart of the artichoke (the best part) but at the same time carefully protect mine from being snatched by family members, like true Chilean warriors. We loved them so we would fiercely negotiate the biggest artichoke. These precious flowers are ancient some say almost 3,000 years old and were considered an aristocrat of the vegetable kingdom. We didn’t know this as kids but they sure deserved our fierce demand around the table. Due to my childhood memories I find the best way to eat an artichoke is to simply boil them. Then generously drizzle a lemon vinaigrette over each one. I have tried a few versions of the vinaigrette and the one I list below is my favourite.

Recipe (serves 2)

Boil 2 artichokes for 1/2 hour  (in salted water ) or until you can poke a knife through the stem

Lemon Vinaigrette

  •  Juice of two lemons
  • 100g of chopped dill
  • 100 g of chopped spring onion
  • 100g of finely chopped parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • a teaspoon of olive oil
