Chemex coffee, a morning ritual!

chemex2  Chemex1

Four years ago I discovered how good filtered coffee can be. At the time I was travelling through Arashiyama, Japan where I found a local Kisaten (an old style Japanese cafe). As soon I opened the door an instant coffee aroma hit my senses, pulling me closer to the counter where they were brewing coffee in siphons. I could feel glaring eyes anticipating my next move or probably just surprised to see a foreigner, but I was glad to be the only one. I dream of places like this as I knew it was going to be a cultural food experience. I did my best to express to the owner that I wanted a cup of that enticing coffee. The bubbling sound the siphons  made was music to my ears, as if they were saying I am ready! Since I have been hooked on filter processes and have found Chemex to produce an enjoyable coffee experience without the bubbles. The beautifully designed vessel was invented in America by a German Chemist around 1941. The Chemex  has become a collection piece at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. So I couldn’t resist buying one that I have enjoyed and look forward to greeting every morning. It has become a ritual every morning to grind, gently pour in circular motions and watch the slow drip of precious juice. A Chemex delivers a smooth, clean cup of coffee with clarity that reveals those subtle flavours often masked in a fuller body method like a French Press. Through my own Chemex research I have stuck to a combination of 21g of grounded coffee and 225ml of water per cup. Brewing in a Chemex is a drama of devotion and patience, inspired by a small city outside Kyoto!

