The Big Syrian BBQ!

Syrian bbq2 Syrian bbq3

Syrian bbq6 syrian bbq4

Syrian bbq5

A community is always up for a BBQ, especially when the weather is perfect like today. The Almond in Darlinghurst serving Syrian cuisine booked a perfect day for a Big Syrian BBQ. A great food initiative, that brings a community together to indulge, and share local public spaces that we are fortunate to have in Sydney. On this occasion the Almond hosts the BBQ at the rear of the restaurant, where you find yourself in a funky little lane. I feel a film is about to be shot and the crowd is gathering. Our noses are immediately dragged to the grilling section where they have lamb and chicken kebabs over charcoal. Sharon the head Chef is carefully watching over the meats, so I’m sold! I quickly join the queue, come my turn I order the meze that comes with lamb, chicken, fattoush, tabbouleh, baba ghanoush and hummus. I sit back, under a clear blue sky and slowly dig in. I am part of the crowd enjoying the public space and joyous weather Sydney generously pulled out today. All that’s missing now is a cold glass of Arak!

Almond Bar

379 Liverpool Street, Darlinghurst, 2010
(02) 9380 5318

Hours

Tue to Sun 5.30 pm – 10.30pm

Almond Bar

