Keep it simple but tasty on Sunday night!

Celery

It’s the end of the weekend and after a long day at the beach I felt like making a simple, tasty and comforting recipe. With a summery feel to the weekend a refreshing salad with a juicy piece of meat was a perfect thought. I had some good feta in the fridge, a key ingredient for a salad recipe.  Feta is a great ingredient for salads, it binds your produce so well, adding sharpness that often brings a wow factor to your dish. I quickly found an

ideal salad recipe in Yotam Ottolenghi’s new book, Plenty More. There’s plenty to choose from in his book and I am loving it. I found a  recipe that included ingredients I already  had in my fridge, a Celery Salad With Feta and Soft Boiled Egg. To keep things simple I think its best to find recipes that include ingredients you already have sitting in your pantry or fridge. I accompany the salad with a nice Angus Rib Eye Steak that one must serve medium rare!

Salad Recipe (serves 2)

  • 4 celery stalks, finely sliced (diagonally)
  • 10g of celery leaves
  •  1/2 a white onion, finely sliced
  • 1 green capsicum, finely sliced
  • 100g of feta
  • 1 tbsp of capers
  • 1 lemon, cut flesh into segments
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 10g of coriander leaves
  • salt and pepper

Tips

After bringing the water to a boil reduce to a simmer and cook the egg for 6 minutes. Remove the egg and leave it to cool in cold water. Peel the egg and the yolk should still be runny.

