Spaghetti with clams, squid and courgettes!

It’s Sunday night and what shall I make, well for most of us, this is a common question. A simple pasta with a few good ingredients and a good bottle of wine is great way to end the weekend. Simple pastas just rely on good produce to bring it all together. Plus I think it’s a joyful way to use the last remaining vegetables in your fridge.

IMG_5449 IMG_5450

My lucky last veggies in the fridge were little courgettes, long red chillies and garlic.  As always, I start by thinking of recipes that I can match ingredients with. For me Giovanni Pilu’s recipes have always been an inspiration. On this occasion what comes to mind is his Malloreddus with clams, bottarga and zucchini flowers. I don’t have Malloreddus in my cupboard, unless you are Sardinian not many of us do. The Garofalo spaghetti in the cupboard had to do. I usually stock up  with this brand, it’s accessible and made from durum wheat flour. Great I had everything and I was on a mission!

IMG_5451 IMG_5453

I briskly walked to my local fish monger, severely hoping they had clams. I walk in and see Cloudy Bay Clams staring at me, it was meant to be, right! No bottarga at this joint so I grab two small squids and don’t let your fish monger clean them, do it yourself as it’s quite therapeutic, trust me. I was set and head back, almost forgetting the Pinot Grigio that goes so well with seafood pasta. Yum yum Sunday was not over yet!

IMG_5456

IMG_5455

Recipe (serves 2)

  • 250g of spaghetti
  • 4 small courgettes sliced into thin strips
  • 1 large chilli, sliced
  • 1/2 glass of white wine
  • 3 medium cloves of garlic, finely sliced
  • 250g of clams
  • 2 small squids (keep the tentacles)
  • 6 tbps of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp of good quality salt for the pasta mix
  • 3 tsp of salt for the pasta water

Tips

Fill a large pot with water and for 250 grams of pasta at least 2 litres of water. Then add the 3 tsps of salt that you need to stir well. While the water is boiling begin to sauté 1/4 of your garlic and chilli slices. Before they begin to brown throw in your courgettes and sauté them for at least 6 minutes. Make sure they don’t begin to fall apart. Remove the courgettes and quickly add more oil, throw the remaining garlic and chilli, saute’ them until lightly browned and now add the clams. Toss the clams until they are well coated with the oil, garlic and chillis. Quickly pour the wine, put the lid on the pan and crank up the heat. It shouldn’t take more than 4 minutes for the clams to open. Shake the pan a bit, open the pan again and if timed well add the pasta with a little pasta water, mix well and finally drizzle 1 tbps of olive oil.

